The Liturgical Commission

The Liturgical Commission has 8 members, appointed by the Archbishop:

  • Several members have their Certificate in Pastoral Liturgy from St. Paul University
  • one member is on staff at Summer Institutes in Pastoral Liturgy and Religious Education at St. Paul University
  • one member is a graduate of the MLPA 
  • most have attended many of the Atlantic Liturgical Congresses

While diocesan-wide representation is ideal, and in fact is mandated, at most times it has been very difficult to achieve. At the moment all but 2 members come from the St. John's and Mount Pearl area.

We are constantly searching for more members willing to serve. 

Mission Statement

The Archdiocesan Liturgical Commission is appointed by the Archbishop to foster, promote and implement good pastoral liturgy throughout the Archdiocese.  


At present this position is vacant. Reverend William Pomroy is Director Emeritus

Liturgy Office

There is no Liturgical Commission Office at the Pastoral Centre. However, one of the commission members will return calls made to the Pastoral Centre and respond to mail.  


In justice, it is important that we support the artists who compose the lyrics and music used in all our liturgies. That means ensuring that they get the royalty fees to which they are entitled and need. There is also a legal requirement to observe the copyright laws. 

The CCCB Publications Service has issued a very good and complete document entitled Rights and Permission Policy.

Download CCCB Rights and Permissions Policy

Revisit the CCCB site periodically to ensure you have the latest version of the policy 

Contact Us

Pastoral Centre

200 Military Road

St. John’s, NL A1C 2E8

Tel: (709) 726-3660

Fax: (709) 726-8021

Commission Membership

Donna Evans 

Patricia Fowler, Secretary

Reverend Jose Joaquin

Harry Megann, Chair

Reverend William Pomeroy, Director Emeritus

John Ridgley

Reverend Edward Sutton