Archbishop's Office

Archdiocese of St. John's


According to the latest census information (2004), the Archdiocese of St. John's has a Catholic population of 111,000 in 36 parishes, which actually serve 72 churches in smaller communities. 28 parishes have a resident pastor.

The total population of the geographic area covered by the Archdiocese is 213,000. The Roman Catholic population is numbered at 111,000. Thus, 52.1% of the population of the area self-reports as Roman Catholic. There are 37 diocesan priests, of whom 8 are retired and 5 are ministering outside the Archdiocese.

Residing in the Archdiocese, there are 12 religious priests serving within the Archdiocese. Religious priests represent the:

  • Congregation of the Most Holy Redeemer (Redemptorists)
  • Society of Jesus (Jesuits)

There are 8 male religious, representing:

  • Congregation of the Most Holy Redeemer (Redemptorists)
  • Society of Jesus (Jesuits)
  • Irish Christian Brothers

There are 193 female religious residing within the Archdiocese. They represent:

  • Sisters of Mercy
  • Sisters of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Most Reverend Peter Joseph Hundt

Archbishop of St. Johns

  • 8th Archbishop of St. John’s & 14th Bishop
  • Born: August 26, 1956
  • Ordained to Priesthood: May 8, 1982
  • Ordained to Episcopate: April 25, 2006
  • Bishop of Corner Brook - Labrador s: 2011-2018
  • Appointed Archbishop of St. John’s: December 12, 2018
  • Took Canonical Possession of the Archdiocese: January 29, 2019

Vicar General

Very Reverend Cecil Critch, V.G.

Archbishop's Office

Office of the Archbishop

Pastoral Centre 

200 Military Road

St. John’s, NL A1C 2E8

Tel: (709) 726-3660

Fax: (709) 726-8021

The Archbishop 

Archbishop Peter J. Hundt